Monday, Feb 18th

Last updateSun, 17 Feb 2019 4pm

You are here: Home Section Table Shout it Out Arthur Manor Holds 90th Annual 4th of July Parade and Picnic

Arthur Manor Holds 90th Annual 4th of July Parade and Picnic

AMUncleSameDuring a beautiful, sun-filled and very hot summer day, the Arthur Manor Neighborhood Association held its 90th Annual 4th of July parade and picnic at Davis Park on Tuesday, July 4th.

The day started out with parade marchers gathering at the corner of Sprague and Bell roads at 9:15 am. Before the parade started, the judges ranked individual and group marchers in categories such as most patriotic costumes, decorated scooters, bicycles, tricycles and strollers and floats.

The marchers, accompanied by a special police escort, the Westchester County Band and Scarsdale Volunteer Fire Company Number 1, started the parade from Bell and Sprague Roads at 9:45 am and marched through Arthur Manor to Davis Park where the traditional 4th of July ceremony was conducted in front of the flag pole at the North end of the park.

The ceremony began with the raising of the flag by the Scarsdale Volunteer Fire Company No. 1’s color guard and accompanied by the trumpet playing of Dr. Jack Binder of the Westchester Band. Scarsdale Volunteer Fire Company No. 1 also celebrates its 125th year in 2018.

Next, Richard Gast sang the National Anthem which was followed by the recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance. The gathering then observed a moment of silence to remember all of the men and women who sacrificed so much for the United States and what it stands for – both at home and abroad.

Dan Hochvert, Mayor of Scarsdale, then spoke to the crowd gathered at Davis Park on the meaning of July 4th and the significance the day holds for all residents. Village Trustees Lena Crandall, Jane Veron and Matt Callaghan were also in attendance together with Arthur Manor’s 4th of July all-star favorite, Uncle Sam (played by Teegan Lee).

AM3Al Stuart then held the award segment of the ceremony for the day’s parade marchers and other participants in the various categories such as floats, bicycles, tricycles, etc.. (A complete list of the winners follows below).

This year’s July 4th celebration was sponsored by Heather Harrison of Compass Realty and Scarsdale Volunteer Fire Company No. 1.

Following the end of the ceremony, the crowd the moved to the other end of the Davis Park field for the annual races including the three-legged race, potato sack, wheel-barrow, relay and the annual favorite “egg toss” -which first appeared at Arthur Manor’s annual July 4th picnic in 1944! The games were conducted by Sam Bryant and his daughter, Olivia. (A list of the winning participants also follows below). This year’s egg toss winners were Helen Gimbel and Avery Bower.

Hosting the event was the Arthur Manor Neighborhood Association’s President, Matt Martin.

Refreshments included lemonade , hot dogs (courtesy of Kate and Gianni Porco), brownies and watermelon were on hand for all to enjoy.

This annual event in Arthur Manor is only made possible by the collective efforts of the Arthur Manor volunteer residents including especially the Marcus, Porco, Stuart and Bongiorno families, and all of the other Arthur Manor volunteers too numerous to list here. A special thanks also to Trader Joes’s for donating the eggs for the renowned egg-toss.

Winners List For Arthur Manor Neighborhood Association Parade

Marchers in Patriotic CostumeAM1
First Place: Beatrice Martin and Zoe Maidman
Second Place: Maxwell and Sidney Block
Third Place: Kuo and Oyaki Families
Honorable Mention: Sammy and Adam Rashid

First Place: Ari and Benjamin Maibrunn
Second Place: Grace Horne
Third Place: John Bates
Honorable Mention: Ella Guarino and Johan Schuerhein

First Place: Madison Ferree
Second Place: Catilin Maddaloni
Third Place: Claire Carroll/Sloane Harshman
Honorable Mention: Grace Piekarski

First Place: Lola Schuerhein
Second Place: Bobby Kyle Carlton

Carriages and Strollers
First Place: Ethan Marcus
Second Place : Eliza Krause
Third Place: Shea Piekarski


First Place: The S.S. Neil Diamond/ Emily, Zoe, Jack Callaghan and Olivia
Second Place: Uncle Sam’s Mobile/ James Martin
Third Place: Patriotic Mobile/ Lexi, Madison, Brook O’Grady
Honorable Mention: America/ Alex, Zara, Eva, Sienna

The Games WinnersAMFloat

The Dash/ 5yrs old and under

1. Lillian Peterson
2. Jack Walker
3. Benjamin Maibrunn

6 and 7 year olds
1. Conner Coakley
2. Zoe Zheng
3. Ella Peterson

8,9,10 year old girls
1. Elena Sannicandro
2. Evie Schiff
3. Dia Mody

8, 9, 10 year old boys
1. Keisuke Ogaki
2. Connor Coakley/Ryan O’Shea
3. Julian Zlomislic

11 year old and older/girlsAM2
1. Asa Ogaki
2. Zoe Maidman
3. Ilona Goyal

11 yr old and older, boys
1. Dean Mancini
2. Daniel Hoey
3. Max Block

Wheelbarrow Race

7 yrs old and under
1. Heidi Debrabant/Paxton Debrabant
2. Henry Larch/John Bates
3. Colin Coakley/Aiden Roche/ Benjamin Maibrunn

8,9,10 yr olds
1. An Maibrunn/Matthew Mialkowski
2. Keisuke Ogaki/Perride Kuo
3. Sebastian Mange/Sergey Yanovsky

11 yr old and older
1. Max Block/Daniel Hoey
2. Bea Martin/ Ana Zerbo

Potato Sack Race/Girls
1. Ella Peterson
2. Aria Wang
3. Lexi O’Grady

Girls, 7 and 8 yr oldsAMBand
1. Riku Oba
2. Zoe Zheng
3. Asa Ogaki

Girls, 9 and 10 yr olds
1. Uma Scher
2. Eve Scheff
3. Elena Sannicandro

Girls, 11 year old and older
1. Zoe Maidman
2. Bea Martin
3. Ava Zerbo

Potato Sak Race/ Boys

6 years and under
1. Paxton Debrabant
2. Johan Schuerhein
3. Michael Miahoski/Alan Wang

Boys, 7 and 8 yr old
1. Connor Coakley
2. Matthew Miahoski
3. Colin Caokley/Henry LarchAMBand2

Boys, 9 and 10 yr
1. Sebastian Monge
2. Keisuke Ogaki
3. Ari Maibrunn

Boys, 11 and older
1. Daniel Hoey
2. Nicky Ebenes-Barst
3. Max Block

Parent Child Relay

Children Under 5 and under
1. Jonathan and Ellen Chang
2. Grace and Chris Piekarski
3. Micah and Uri Scher/ Benjamin and Marc Maibrunn

Children 6, 7, 8 yr olds
1. Dan and Connor Coakely and Christian and Oliver Elanisin
2. John and Patrick Bates, James and Lorenzo Martix
3. Henry and Daniel Lorch/ Rikku and Oba Uske/Asa Ogaki

Children 9 and 10AMBanner
1. Alana and Uri Scher
2. Hugo Gueler/Serge Yanovskey
3. Julian Zlomislic

Children 11 and older
1. Daniel and Kevin Hoey
2. Dean and Lou Mancini
3. Max and Felicia Block

Three Legged Race

6 and Under
1. Michael Mialkaski and Benjamin Maibrunn
2. Monica Peterson and Lillian Peterson
3. Sasha Yanovskey and Miles Mancini

7 and 8 year olds
1. Conner Coakely/Julian Zlomislic
2. Ella Peterson and Zoe Zheng
3. Lynn Tamura and Asa Ogaki, Henry Lardon and Colin Coakley

9 and 10 year oldsAMdog
1. Mady O’Grady/Brooke O’Grady
2. Eve Schiff and Uma Scher
3. Matthew Mialkowski/Conor Roche

11 year olds and older
1. Bea Martin and Zoe Maidman
2. Max Block and Daniel Hoey
3. Nicky Eloner-Burst/Neal Mazza

Egg Toss

Winner- Helen Gimbel and Avery Bower


Leave a Comment

Share on Myspace