Monday, Dec 18th

Last updateMon, 18 Dec 2017 12pm

You are here: Home The Goods SHS 2016 Academic Awards Recognize Exceptional Students

SHS 2016 Academic Awards Recognize Exceptional Students

bonamo pres

Over 40 Scarsdale High School Students were recognized for their exceptional achievements in the Arts, Mathematics, Science, English, Social Studies, Language, Community Service and more at the 2016 Academic Awards Assembly on May 11 at Scarsdale High School. Principal Bonamo opened the ceremony by congratulating those who won awards. Bonamo explained that the night is always one of the most joyous occasions of the school year. The awards are designed to, "honor those students who have distinguished themselves by demonstrating exemplary achievement in academics", explained Bonamo. The teachers and faculty hope that the award ceremony, "provides tangible recognition of [students'] efforts and achievements". Bonamo also recognized the importance of family support and helpful teachers in contributing to the students' achievements.

Assistant Principal Sue Peppers congratulated all jake awardof the students invited to accept awards along with members of the Award Committee who made the selections, the PTA who organized the ceremony, and the Technology and Staging departments for setting up the technical aspects. Bonamo concluded his speech by explaining that in a world plagued with problems like war and global warming, "the world needs people with the skills and confidence to make real changes". Bonamo commended the students, saying, "you are just the leaders we are looking for, and I know you will take the initiative to make our world a better place". The awards were introduced and presented by department heads, community leaders, and faculty members.

Here is the list of those who received awards:

Steve Corbin Academic Success Award – Suzan Morgul

Junior Scholarship/Service Award – Samantha Rothberg

Junior Academic Excellence Award – Keshav Rastogi

Wellesley Book Award – Zoe Ewing

Scarsdale Alumni Eric Rothschild Award – Samuel Goldman

Counseling Department Award – Arthur Noulas

Scarsdale Foundation Award – Charles Musoff

Dartmouth Award – Yarden Wiesenfeld

Principal's Award – Stephanie Strek

Billy Safian Humanitarian Award – Alexis Zachem

Halliday Clark Sr. Memorial Award – Hayley Jaffe

Casey Ferrone Memorial Award – Clare McInerney

Scarsdale Chamber of Commerce Award – Carly Glickenhaus

Rotary Club Award – Benjamin Kulick, Olivia Henkoff

Technical Services Award – Jacob Frishberg

MSG Computer Science Award – Joseph Marques, Gordon Phoon

Michael V. McGill Book Award – Cameron Moser

Yale University Award – Zachary Gelles


Excellence in Visual Art 2D – Ilana Shire

Excellence in Visual Art 3D – Elena Ludwig

Media Award – Tisnue Jean-Baptiste

Friends Permanent Collection Award – Noel Ferraris

Elisa Draper Art History Award – Benjamin Stevens


Brown University Award – Zoe Ewing

Harvard University Award – Chloe Suzman

Princeton University English Excellence Award – Gustaf Ahdritz

Audrey McGinn Creative Writing Award – Annling Wang


Latin Award – Aditi Valada

Spanish Literature Award – Garrett Tanzer

Spanish Award – Nathan Mainster

French Award – Charles Musoff

Mandarin – Mahiro Abe

Departmental Award – Gustaf Ahdritz


Rensselaer Mathematics & Science Award – Dexin Li

Math Faculty Award – Han Xu


Bausch and Lomb Award – Zachary Gelles

Science Achievement Award – Garrett Tanzer

Science Department Award – Charles Musoff

New York Science Supervisors Association Awards

Biology – Gabriel Dolsten

Chemistry – Yarden Wiesenfeld

Physics – Zachary Bernstein

All-Around – Harry Chalfin


Social Studies Excellence Award – Rachel Abbe, Samuel Goldman

Social Studies Faculty Award – Meaghan Donovan

Social Studies Achievement Award – Remi Nakazeki


Band Award – Jonathan Turovsky

Chorus Award – Samuel Rosner

Orchestra Awards – Naoko Nakajima, Alan Yao

Friends of Music and Art Drama Award – Victoria DiSalvo

Sidney R. Case Memorial Scholarship – Jake Staffin

Add comment